The 6 C’s of Care

The 6 C’s of Care


1. Care

Care is our core business and that of our organisations and the care we deliver helps the individual
person and improves the health of the whole community.
Caring defines us and our work. People receiving care expect it to be right for them consistently
throughout every stage of their life.

2. Compassion

Compassion is how care is given through relationships based on empathy, respect and dignity.
It can also be described as intelligent kindness and is central to how people perceive their care.

3. Competence

Competence means all those in caring roles must have the ability to understand an individual’s
health and social needs.
It is also about having the expertise, clinical and technical knowledge to deliver effective care and
treatments based on research and evidence.

4. Communication

Communication is central to successful caring relationships and to effective team working. Listening
is as important as what we say and do.
It is essential for “no decision about me without me”. Communication is the key to a good workplace
with benefits for those in our care and staff alike.

5. Courage

Courage enables us to do the right thing for the people we care for, to speak up when we have
It means we have the personal strength and vision to innovate and to embrace new ways of working.

6. Commitment

A commitment to our patients and populations is a cornerstone of what we do. We need to build on
our commitment to improve the care and experience of our patients.
We need to take action to make this vision and strategy a reality for all and meet the health and
social care challenges ahead.