Health and social care level 3

Advanced Apprenticeship in Health and Social Care which includes:
A competence qualification: Level 3 Diploma in Health and Social Care for England
A knowledge qualification: BTEC Level 3 Certificate in Preparing to Work in Adult Social Care
Functional Skills Maths Level 2
Functional Skills English Level 2
Employment Rights and Responsibilities

The apprenticeship is made up of mandatory units which cover the essential skills required for working in a health and social care environment, such as:
Personal development
Equality and inclusion
Duty of Care
Role of the Health and Social Care worker
Person-Centred approaches
Promoting good practice in Health and Safety
Promoting good practice in Handling information

There are then a variety of optional units to choose from which focus on the specific tasks you carry out within your role which could include:
Understanding mental health
Understanding dementia
Infection prevention and control
Supporting individuals with learning disabilities
Supporting young people
Understanding and working with physical disability
Supporting individuals to carry out their own health care procedures
Supporting care plans
Working in partnership with families
Emergency first aid skills
Supporting individuals who are substance misusers
Multi-agency working
Supporting individuals to live at home and manage their finances

Children and Young People’s Workforce Apprenticeships Level 3

This Apprenticeship Framework also comprises completion of the Rights and Responsibilities Booklet Level 2 (ERR) BTEC Certificate for the Children and Young Peoples Workforce and Functional Skills (Application of Number and Communication and ICT Level 1 or Level 2).
Some of the units covered include:
Promote Person-Centred Approaches in Health and Social Care
Principles of Safeguarding in Health and Social Care
Promote and implement Health and Safety in Health and Social Care
The Principles of Infection Prevention and Control
Understand the Process and Experience of Dementia
Understand the Context of Supporting Individuals with Learning Difficulties
Promote Person –Centred Thinking and Planning
Support Individuals with Specific Communication Needs

About The Training
Assessment method: There are various methods available that can be tailored to suit your needs, such as:
Examination of case history
Product evidence
Witness testimony
Professional Discussion
All teaching, learning and assessment for the qualification will take place in the workplace

Learners may progress from this pathway onto further qualifications specific to their work context. A wide range of qualifications are available for use within the social care sector. These may include the Higher Apprenticeship in Care Leadership and Management, specialist level 4 or 5 diplomas or management qualifications, QCF qualifications or other work-related education and training to support continuing professional development.

Apprentices can also move to other parts of the sector, for example an apprentice specialising in learning disabilities can take a dementia qualification if their job role changes or if they wish to follow career ambitions in another part of the sector.

Advanced level Apprentices can progress to QCF diplomas at level 4 and above (e.g. Higher National Diploma in H&SC or Higher Education), including, where appropriate, opportunities for progression to foundation degrees (e.g. Foundation Degree in H&SC) and higher education certificates.